The Cognitive Approach to Religion

Greetings from SPSP! I’ve been quiet this week as I am at the largest conference in my field, the Society for Personality and Social Psychology. It’s been a great experience so far. Yesterday, I attended a symposium on religion and prosociality that was extremely exciting and has inspired my next blog topic: the supernatural punishment hypothesis. But that will have to wait until Monday!

For now, I wanted to let you know that there is a post by me up at The Religious Studies Project. Recently, the fine folks over there posted an excellent interview with Armin Geertz, one of the leading cognitive scientists of religion, and they invited me write a response. Because the site is aimed to introduce people to different ways of studying religion, I thought it would be useful to summarize some of the major findings in that have resulted from the cognitive approach. So head over there and take a look and subscribe to the podcast.

2 Comments to “The Cognitive Approach to Religion”

  1. Thanks so much for this Erika!

    Are you enjoying the conference? I’m jealous… I just love going to conferences – is there something wrong with me?

    Hope you enjoy the rest of it, and I look forward to your next post!

    Cheers,

    Chris

  2. Hi Chris! I managed to restore your comment once I got access to WordPress not from the iPhone app. :) Seriously, though, I should be thanking be you, not the other way!

    The conference has been great! It’s so invigorating to talk about these ideas in person. I am leaving with a bunch of new study ideas and new collaborators. So, no, there is is nothing wrong with you!!

    Hope everything is well with you! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

